So long. I’ll be back later.

We all have to know our limitations in life, whether it is in the area of food, alcohol usage, TV viewing or intake of information about abuse.  Too much is detrimental to our health in some way.  Sometimes the only way to discover that threshold is to get there, which means you’ve run into trouble.

I did that.  I sought out information on clergy sexual abuse so much that I overdosed.  In a previous post, I discussed trauma triggers, and that is what I was dealing with again. This time instead of turning my back on articles, I began to dig further – compulsively.  Yes, I think it is fair to say that was an overdose!  There is a particular case I have a great interest in so I checked daily to see if there were updates.  In the process, I saw updates on many other cases around the world.  It is depressing!  Literally.

That is one reason I haven’t posted for a while.  Self-care.  I was so excited about getting this blog going, but quite honestly, I don’t know if I should continue at this time.  My hope was to share stories and research information to share as well, but clearly I can’t do that right now. You certainly don’t want to come on here and listen to me whine and complain.

I think I need to take a break from it already.  There was only one way to find out if I could handle it, wasn’t there? 

I deactivated my Facebook account and Twitter account for the time being.  It’s just time to walk away because the wound is not healed enough.

May God be with you and I on our journeys.  Til we meet again, may God hold you in the palm of His hands.

2 Replies to “So long. I’ll be back later.”

  1. That seems like sound advice, Judy. I thank God for a great support system (therapist, spiritual director, husband, good friends) who help me. I wish the same type of thing for all victims. It is essential for healing, and even then it is a huge challenge. Nearly 20 years of abuse leaves very deep wounds.

    Like

  2. We in SNAP often remind our members: Please, take care of yourself first.

    Judy Jones, SNAP Midwest Associate Director, USA, 636-433-2511
    “Survivors Network of those Abused by Priests” and all clergy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

