Welcome to my world.

It’s a new year and seemingly a good time to begin a new blog.  Welcome.  I am a survivor of sexual abuse by a Catholic priest.  My children, parents or most of my siblings do not know for varying reasons.  When, and if, the time comes for me to tell them, I will.  For now, however, it is a journey I make with friends and now strangers on the internet.

When I was considering starting this blog, my primary goal was to reach out to others and guide them to places where they might receive help and healing.  I hope that happens, but it is no longer my main focus.  Perhaps it is a little narcissistic, but I need to concentrate on self-care.  If I want to survive, I have to take care of myself. For me, writing helps.  That said, knowing what the struggles, joys, thoughts and feelings of other victims are have  been extremely beneficial for me.  Education has been as well – reading books and articles.  Maybe, just maybe, by me sharing some of mine with you, it will help you on your journey if you or someone you know has experienced something similar.

With time, I will add resources for you to consult – web sites, blogs, books, articles.  For now, I want to welcome you.  If you are reading this, it’s a start!  Please share this with friends.  I have a Twitter account and would love to have you join me there.  I discovered it is a great way to network with others dealing with the same issues.  By following me, I hope that you may be helped by someone you find through the account.

I’ve never done anything like this before, so you will probably be mildly entertained by my ignorance.  Hey, I have to start somewhere!  I welcome your suggestions about how to make this more useful to you and others.  If I can do it, I will.

While I was abused by a Catholic priest, the Catholic faith is very much the center of my life and will be reflected here.  Today is a Holy Day, the Feast of Mary, the Mother of God.  There have been many times when I have experienced such deep pain from abuse that Mary is the one from whom I could feel love because I could not accept the love of any male spiritual being.  She prays for me, and I’m sure she prays for all the abused.  As the “mother of priests”, think of how her heart must grieve when one of her “children” offends a child or another vulnerable person so deeply.  And now the mantle of her love wraps gently around us and holds us as we try to accept the healing touch of God.  Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death, Amen.

!function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=”//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js”;fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document,”script”,”twitter-wjs”);

Leave a Reply

